What Exactly Is Forsaken?

Image

Today I decided to weed the back garden and the grape vines. Before you make the mistake of thinking me a gardener, you should know the previous owners of my home were obviously hobbits, and loved everything that grows. Since I am not a hobbit, the poor yard has been in decline for 15 years.

image

As my knees and back begin to get weary, I thought of how often I found myself repeating this chore. If I do a good job in the spring, and cover with fresh bark, I should be pretty good around the flowers and shrubs until next year. But there will be next year…

It made me think about sin. When I was in kindergarten, I had sticky fingers. My family was very poor. I knew stealing was sinful. Sometimes, though, I wanted things my family could never buy for me. So I took them.

I am no longer a child thief. I have repented for these sins. It has been decades since I shoplifted anything. This weekend, though, I am house sitting some silly animals, and for the first time in a long time I felt tempted to walk out with more than what is mine.

I thought I had forsaken that sin. Why am I being tempted again? Is it because I didn’t really repent the first time? Or is the cunning one really that persistent?

Since I have been attending support group, and learning the 12 steps, I told my husband what I wanted to take, and that I knew better, but I was struggling.

He told me we didn’t need it, and he knew I was better than that.

I don’t understand this new twist. I will be glad when the weekend is over.

2 thoughts on “What Exactly Is Forsaken?

  1. You are very vulnerable right now. Your spiritual enemy knows this. Perhaps he is trying to take advantage of your weakness, tempting you in ways that will cause you to question yourself and God’s good work in your life. Recognizing what he is doing is the first step. Just as Jesus quoted scripture to defeat His tempter, a favorite verse which speaks to this will help you defeat your tempter. I pray God will keep you strong and steadfast, fully aware of His love and mercy towards you, his beautiful child. Amen.

    Like

    • Ephesians 4

      31 Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice:

      32 And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.

      Thank you, Ziggy. This page of my new testament is well worn. I should commit these verses to memory.

      Like

Leave a Reply

